Page 2 of 77 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 762

Thread: R9 290 Black Screen Fix!!!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    369

    Default

    I sent u mail with all stuff that you need. I have 1300 memory clock with the new bios. I tryed to lower memory clock even to the 1200 but that didn't help me. I contacted Sapphire Support and they told me that old BIOS versions had some problems ( they didn't tell me what) and they send me new one with the Instruction how to put it. My card is working fine now, not single Black Screen, Freez or anything!! I am now on 14.4 drivers and everything is how it should be. Once again, I didn't need to set anything manualy it was 1000/1300 out of the box!!!

    Edit: I will upload these files somewhere so all you can download!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    369

    Default

    Ok. I upload all files, here is the link : xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS FIRST!!!
    Last edited by Rubenoa; 09-05-2014 at 10:24 PM. Reason: Not allowed in Forum

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruc View Post
    Ok. I upload all files, here is the link : xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx[/url]

    PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS FIRST!!!
    Thanks again bruc for helping - you were online the same time I was, so I got the fastest help in the world !!! THANX, I got rid of the black screen issues

    I just checked how did they fix the problem - when I started AB util, I saw (plus)25 increase in the core voltage tab. The same you will see in TRIXX - Sapphire's OC utillity. The difference is that if I did it by myself, as described in my previous post, it would still not be a good solution, since setting the clocks and voltages that way, would happen only when Windows loads the util, working with the problematic low voltages in the meanwhile. So they simply did it in BIOS - which is loaded at the system startup, so no more problems !

    Be careful tho, if you reset the voltage back to 0, you will be greeted with the black screen all over again. Do not undervolt it with AB or TRIXX, leave it as it is if you use this BIOS, at (plus)25 !

    Another thing: I had BIOS ver. 015.043.000.001.000000 which is for Hynix RAM modules.

    EDIT: forum censores plus sign

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    369

    Default

    I am glad, that this helped you! I noticed some changes in Core Voltage, but who cares. This is 100% pure Sapphire Bios and I would not change anything!!!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by solaresmty View Post
    Work for Normal R9 290?
    It may work fine, but you will end up with OC memory and core - 1000/1300, since this BIOS is for OC version... You will be needing another graphic device if you brick your card, integrated graphics will suffice - for reflashing the correct BIOS. I think it may help you too, since they boosted the voltages up a bit, but it's safer to ask for support directly from Sapphire and get a proper BIOS with no overclocking in it. And - not all black screens are related to voltages (most are, tho)
    Last edited by psionic; 09-05-2014 at 04:59 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    15

    Thumbs up

    Thanks for sharing, I'm sure it will help some people.

    This bios is..
    BIOS Version - 015.044.000.011.000000 (113-E285HBOC-U004)
    (last 4 digits are U004 for UEFI and X004 for non-UEFI)
    I uploaded it to the TechPowerup VGA Bios database.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/
    They will be listed on there shortly once they verify the upload.

    EDIT: No direct links will be posted.
    Thanks for the heads up Rubenoa, I wasn't aware direct links weren't allowed. My bad.
    Last edited by mtdew332; 09-05-2014 at 11:06 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Malaga - Sevilla, SPAIN
    Posts
    7,950

    Default

    @mtdew332,

    I´m afraid you cannot post any links toward any vBios here in the forums,
    This is a request from Sapphire Support.
    Just with the techpowerup main link, I think we are ok.
    Also, guys, keep in mind that you are doing this under your own risks, Sapphire will not cover your warranty, in case you still have it.

    HP Pavilion Notebook DV3550 ** MAXTOR PERSONAL STORAGE 3200 (500gigs) ** PS4 500G
    ¡¡¡UPGRADING IN PROGRESS!!!
    HD 7970 OC 3G DUALX........ENERMAX PLATIMAX EPM1000EWT

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    369

    Default

    Because Forum Rules is not allowing to post any Bios download link, contact me via PM and I will send you files. Once again this is VBIOS for Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB. I didn't test on any other card so I am not responsible for any card damage!!! This helped me and the forum member psionic!

    Edit: Give me your e-mail and I will send you!
    Last edited by bruc; 09-06-2014 at 10:39 AM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default Successful Flash

    Hi
    With the help of bruc I have successfully flashed the new vBIOS and for now the black screen is gone.
    I have flashed both VBIOS- u44&o44. My previous bios was 015.042.000.000.000000 UEFI.

    Using 14.4 drivers (clean install) I ran some stress tests (mainly unigen heaven and valley benchmarks) I ran them in a loop a few times and monitored the voltage, temps and fan speed. some screenshots for comparison

    Look at the name of the picture for before and after the bios flash.

    First thing i noticed was that the temps under stress are higher and i got lower results(just uploaded one pic that didn't show that...) in the benchmarks,though not something significant. And as long as the black screens are gone I really dont care.

    I configured a fan profile in msi afterburner and the fan goes up to 62%(this is still much much quiter then AMD stock blower) and the temp peaked at 74 (the core is 74 and vrm is 71 according to gpuz and AIDA64) degrees C after 3-4 runs of the benchmark.
    So it's looks stable enough.

    My main issue was that the black screen happened while being in desktop or just the browser(firefox** youtube**several tabs=black screen) and for now it's not happening (no black screen while writing this message and music playing in youtube), for now it's gone , I will update if it happens again.

    Thank you bruc for the help!

    Edit : The clocks for core and mem stayed the same = 1000mhz core and 1300mhz mem.
    Last edited by Kamui9; 09-06-2014 at 01:47 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    369

    Default

    No Problem, I am glad that this helped you. I made some custom Fan Profile that doesn't allow my GPU goes over 68 degrees. I am playing BF4 for 4-5 hours in the row Everything on Ultra and my Card is not going over 68 degrees!!!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •